Home > Krita > Two Backends for tagging in Krita

Two Backends for tagging in Krita

Hi KDE Folks,

     Finally completed two backends support for Tagging in Krita – one is XML and another is NEPOMUK :). I am thankful for the nepomuk developers, who helped me to integrate nepomuk in my project especially Vishesh Handa, Sebastian Trüg and Swair. And also I am glad to have a quick response from KDE people to my previous post. In these two weeks, I setup nepomuk backend, added GUI to change backends and also added unit test for testing the nepomuk part.

     For choosing the backend, we need to go to settings -> configure krita -> general settings. There we can select the backend we like using radio buttons.

     For this backend support, we didn’t change the existing code but added some functions to store and retrieve tags from Nepomuk. While doing this work, I get to know two things

1). Using cmake variable in #ifdef

I struggled a lot to use #ifdef statements. I added all the stuff required but forget to add the header file “KoConfig.h” where I defined the cmake variable. What a silly mistake, I did . . 😀

2). Storing the variables for sessions

       For this, I used kconfig like this

       KConfigGroup m_config;

        m_config = KConfigGroup( KGlobal::config(), “resource tagging” );

        m_nepomukOn = m_config.readEntry(“nepomuk_usage_for_resource_tagging”, false);

  On the whole, I completed the multi-backend support for tagging and now going to Image docker section, where I need to integrate tag support for images. .

Categories: Krita
  1. July 23, 2011 at 10:30 am

    Glad to see tagging integration moving forward so well. Congratulations! Just remember, almost no artists are going to know what the difference between Nepomuk and XML is unless they’re told (in a simple, jargon free way). I would strongly suggest some kind of tooltip that describes the benefit / drawbacks of each.

    Thanks for all your work on this. I’m looking forward to seeing the image docker progress!

  2. Markus
    July 23, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    Frankly, I don’t get why a user should be asked an either-or question about the used tagging back-end.
    First of all: Why can’t I choose both?
    2nd: Why not simply save to both and leave Nepomuk out if that one is not available?
    3rd: Normal users have absolutely no clue what that question means and it clutters the GUI.

  3. Tobias
    July 25, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    Bugsbane is right. No one is interested in this option. Tagging should just work without the need to configure the backend. Can’t you use Nepomuk and XML?

  4. July 25, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    I never said no one was interested. *I’m* interested! As a user, I’d just want to understand the difference between the two options before making a decision to change it.

  5. August 3, 2011 at 8:41 am

    If we use nepomuk in krita, we can search the files using tags with other KDE applications also . . . Like in dolphin, we can search, which will help a lot

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

